NIPS Industry and Awards Night

Chief Tunde Afolabi receiving Life-Time achievement award at NIPS

-By Felix Douglas

The Nigerian International Petroleum Summit (NIPS) came into existence as a means to deliberate on cogent issues affecting the oil and gas industry. NIPS offers stakeholders opportunities to proffer solutions concerning the industry.

Its first maiden edition was in 2016 and for four years, it has attracted players of the industry.

After deliberations, panel discussions and networking, there is need to recognize individuals and companies for their contributions to the industry.

Thus, awards were given to corporate entities and individuals for their outstanding performance in the industry.

The oil field service of the year was given to GPPSL an indigenous oil company. The best fully integrated company of the year 2020 was won by TotalEnergies, an International Oil Company (IOC) that recently transformed its corporate identity. The company also sponsored the awards night. The best innovative thinker for 2020 award was won on individual basis by Justice Derefakar and staff of the Ministry of Petroleum. Justice dedicated his award to the Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Chief Timipre Sylva.

For the best exhibitor for 2020 award went to the Nigeria Liquefied and Natural Gas (NLNG).

Award for the best Corporate Social Responsibility 2020 was won in three categories. The first was the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) for its contribution to fight the pandemic. The other winner was in group, the Oil Producers Trade Section (OPTS) while the third winner was the Independent Petroleum Producers Group (IPPG), a body of indigenous players in the industry.   

The award for international petroleum diplomacy 2020 went to OPEC Secretary General, Mohammed Sanusi Barkindo. Barkindo did a lot in terms of diplomacy in the oil industry. Transaction of the year award for 2020 was won by NLNG. The company recently signed FID for Train 7 project in spite of the pandemic.

Project of the year 2020 was won by Waltersmith Refinery and Petrochemical Company, an indigenous oil company. The company recently commissioned its local refinery in Owerri, south east of Nigeria.

Another individual award was won by an outstanding professional for his contributions to the oil and gas industry, Chief Tunde Joseph Afolabi.  

Chief Afolabi founded an indigenous oil exploration and production company, an illustrious contributor in business who believes in human capital development. His interests span the economic sector including oil, power, gas and manufacturing. He sits in the board of several companies across the globe. A recipient of many awards including Member of the Order of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (MFR) owing to its numerous contributions to the industry.

He got the NIPS 2020 life-time achievement award.

President of the Arab women investor Union, Dr. Yasar also presented an award to the Minister, Timipre Sylva.      

Comment here