Tinubu Wins APC Presidential Ticket

Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu

Former Lagos Governor Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has won the presidential ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

He polled 1,271 votes to defeat other aspirants at the party’s primary in Eagle Square, Abuja.

Tinubu defeated the likes of Vice-President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo; Rotimi Amaechi, former Minister of Transportation; and Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello.

The former Lagos State governor gained ground after fellow contestants, Governors Kayode Fayemi, Abubakar Badaru, and ex-Governor Ibikunle Amosun, among others stepped down for him on Tuesday night.

He was declared winner of the contest by Kebbi Governor Abubakar Bagudu,who is chairman of the APC Election Management Committee.

He will square up with People Democratic People (PDP) presidential candidate Atiku Abubakar and others at the 2023 general elections.

2,322 delegates from 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) voted at the APC presidential primaries.

See the results below:

Bola Ahmed Tinubu 1149 (Still Counting)

Ahmed Lawan 152

Yemi Osibanjo 235

Rotimi Amaechi 316

Yahaya Bello 47

Dave Umahi 38

Ben Ayade 37

Ahmed Sani 2

Sani Yerima 1

Ikeobasi Mokelu 0

Chukwuma Nwajuiba 1

Pastor Tunde Bakare 0

Tien Jack Rich 0

Christopher Onu 1

Rochas Okorocha 0

Void Votes 8

The former Lagos State Governor made his debut in politics as an activist in the pro-democracy agitations of the National Democratic Coalition (NADECO) in the early 1990s.

The 70-year-old was instrumental to the formation of the APC in 2013, and the emergence of Muhammadu Buhari as president in 2015.




Comment here